BPM 2018
   Sydney, Australia. September 9-14, 2018


Call for Best BPM Dissertation Award

The Steering Committee of the International Conference on Business Process Management is happy to announce the new Best BPM Dissertation Award.


Eligible as candidates are all dissertations that have been officially completed after 01 January 2017. We invite theses from a broad spectrum of topics that relate to BPM. These topics include, but are not limited to:

  • BPM and strategy
  • BPM and innovation
  • BPM and governance
  • BPM methods
  • Process mining
  • Process modelling and analysis
  • BPM and decision management
  • BPM enactment architectures and process execution
  • BPM techniques and algorithms
  • BPM and organizational culture
  • BPM and various stakeholders
  • BPM and organizational routines
  • BPM and IT implementation
  • BPM and process-aware information systems
  • BPM and new types of coordination and collaboration
  • BPM and new technologies

We explicitly embrace any type of research no matter which research methods have been used. This means that dissertations that have been conducted using formal methods, empirical methods or design methods are equally welcome.


The winner will receive the award at the BPM Conference 2018 in Sydney, Australia. The award is connected with a prize of 1,500 AUD and a free registration for the conference. The winner is also offered the option to publish the dissertation thesis in Springer’s LNBIP series.

Nomination and Submission

Candidates are nominated by their primary supervisor using a nomination letter. Each professor is only allowed to nominate one candidate. The candidate is responsible for submitting the nomination material via Easychair (https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=bpmdiss2018) including the following documents as a single PDF file:

  1. 5-page extended abstract (in Springer’s LNCS format) of the thesis with the title "<thesis-title> (Extended Abstract)"
  2. Nomination letter by supervisor (not longer than 2 pages)
  3. PhD evaluation report including the reviews of the dissertation
  4. CV of the candidate including publication list
  5. Full document of the dissertation

We plan to publish all extended abstracts that are relevant to this call as a volume of CEUR online proceedings.

Selection Process

The winner of the award will be determined in two steps. First, a review committee will evaluate the submission material and identify a short list of three candidates. Second, these three candidates will be invited to give a presentation of their work in an online session with the review jury. The jury will then select the winner. The selection process will be directed by the following criteria:

  • Originality and depth of contribution,
  • Methodological soundness,
  • Form and quality of presentation, and
  • Significance for the research field.

Important Dates

  • 30 April 2018: Deadline for submission of thesis
  • 26 May 2018: Notification whether thesis is short listed
  • 18 June 2018: Online session with short-listed candidates
  • The Notification of the winner will be at the BPM Conference in Sydney, Australia.

Review Jury

  • Wil van der Aalst, TU Eindhoven, The Netherlands
  • Marlon Dumas, Uni Tartu, Estonia
  • Akhil Kumar, Pennsylvania State University, United States
  • Jan Mendling (Chair), WU Vienna, Austria
  • Brian Pentland, Michigan State University, United States

Review Committee

  • Boulem Bentallah, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Nicholas Berente, University of Georgia, United States
  • Jörg Desel, FernUni Hagen, Germany
  • Schahram Dustdar, TU Vienna, Austria
  • Marco Montali, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy
  • Michael zur Muehlen, Stevens Institute of Technology, United States
  • Barbara Pernici, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Jan Recker, Uni Cologne, Germany
  • Manfred Reichert, Uni Ulm, Germany
  • Hajo Reijers, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Stefanie Rinderle-Ma, Vienna University, Austria
  • Michael Rosemann, QUT Brisbane, Australia
  • Barbara Weber, Technical University of Denmark

  Remark: Deadlines correspond to anywhere on earth (‘AoE’ or ‘UTC-12′)